Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

This is Estate Plone Theme
You are here: Home Conferences History CHI CHI 2012 Details

CHI 2012 Details

CHI 2012 was held from May 5-10 in Austin, Texas.

Table of Contents


Conference Chair

Joseph A. Konstan, University of Minnesota

Technical Program Chairs

Ed H. Chi, Google Research

(Kia) Kristina Höök, Mobile Life @ KTH, Sweden

Paper Chairs

Susanne Bødker, Aarhus University

Dan R Olsen Jr, Brigham Young University

Panel Chairs

Allison Druin, University of Maryland

Joseph 'Jofish' Kaye, Nokia Research Center

Case Studies Chairs

Daniela Busse, Samsung Research

Elizabeth Buie, Luminanze Consulting LLC

Courses Chairs

Nancy Frishberg, Nancy Frishberg, MSB Associates

Gregorio Convertino, Palo Alto Research Center (PARC Inc)

Workshops Chairs

Helena Mentis, Microsoft Research Cambridge

Ido Guy, IBM Research-Haifa

Doctoral Consortium Chairs

Steve Brewster, University of Glasgow

Erik Stolterman, Indiana University, Bloomington

Student Design Competition Chairs

Gilbert Cockton, Northumbria University

Thecla Schiphorst, Simon Fraser University

Student Game Competition Chairs

Seth Cooper, University of Washington

Winslow Burleson, Arizona State University

Student Research Competition Chairs

Anne Aula, Google

Shaowen Bardzell, Indiana University, Bloomington

Work In Progress Chairs

Lichan Hong, Palo Alto Research Center (PARC)

Henriette Cramer, Mobile Life @ SICS, Sweden

SIGS Chairs

Daphne Raban, University of Haifa, Israel

Kaisa Väänänen-Vainio-Mattila, Tampere University of Technology, Finland

Madness Chairs

Paul André, Carnegie Mellon University

Petra Sundström, Salzburg University, Austria

Video Chairs

Michael Bernstein, MIT Computer Science & Artificial Intelligence Lab

Jeffrey Bardzell, Indiana University, Bloomington

Interactivity Chairs

Patrick Baudisch, Hasso Plattner Institut, Germany

Florian 'Floyd' Mueller, RMIT, Exertion Games Lab, Melbourne, Australia

Eva Hornecker, University of Strathclyde, UK

Danielle Wilde,

alt.chi Chairs

Amanda Williams, Wyld Collective Ltd

Erica Robles, New York University

Student Volunteers Chairs

Vicky McArthur

Bobby Beaton, Virginia Tech


William Hudson, Syntagm Ltd and Hult International Business School

Experience Chair

Annette Priest

Publicity Chair

Eelco Herder, L3S Research Center, Germany

Social Media Chairs

Cliff Lampe

Sean McNee

Technology Chairs

Scooter Morris

Sara Drenner, BI Worldwide

Posters Chair

Oleg Komogortsev, Texas State University, San Marcos

Proceedings Chairs

Max Van Kleek, MIT

Alireza Sahami Shirazi, University of Stuttgart, Germany

Nirmal Patel, Georga Tech

Michael Ekstrand, University of Minnesota

Mobile Apps Chairs

Stephen Oney, Carnegie Mellon University

Jason Wiese, Carnegie Mellon University

Eiji Hayashi, Carnegie Mellon University

Design Directors

Apala Lahiri Chavan, Human Factors International

Srikanth Vellore, Human Factors International

Communications Director

Garett Dworman, Tec-Ed Inc


Carol Klyver

CMC Liaison

Scooter Morris

ACM Staff Liaison

Ashley Cozzi

Conference Logistics

Janeé Pelletier

Allison Perrelli

Mailing Lists

Adam Sporka, Czech Technical University, Prague

Core Communities Chairs

Arnie Lund, Microsoft

Bo Begole, Samsung User Experience Center

Design Community Chairs

Ellen Yi-Luen Do, GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology

Patrick Olivier, Culture Lab, Newcastle University

Engineering Community Chairs

Ruven Brooks, Independent Consultant

Fabio Paternò, CNR-ISTI

Management Commmunity Chairs

Janice Rohn, Experian

Dennis Wixon, Microsoft

User Experience Community Chairs

Jhilmil Jain, Microsoft

Kath Straub,

Digital Arts Community Chairs

David England, Liverpool John Moores University

Jill Fantauzzacoffin, Georgia Tech

Entertainment / Games Community Chairs

Regina Bernhaupt, IRIT

Katherine Isbister, NYU-Poly

HCI for Kids (Child-Computer Interaction) Community Chairs

Janet C Read, University of Central Lancashire, UK

Panos Markopoulos, Eindhoven University of Technology

Allison Druin, University of Maryland

Health Community Chairs

Karen Cheng, University of California, Irvine

Julie Kientz, University of Washington

Sustainability Community Chairs

Eli Blevis, Indiana University at Bloomington

Samuel Mann, Otago Polytechnic

Select a region for detail.

Attendance category descriptions

Select a region for detail.

Finance category descriptions

Survey Data

Survey data from conference attendees is available for PDF download.

Document Actions

Mar 30, 2017 SIGCHI sponsors students to attend Turing Award Celebration

SIGCHI sponsors 13 students from around the world to attend the ACM 50 Years of the A.M. Turing Award Celebration

Mar 24, 2017 The SIGCHI Student Travel Grant Program completes its first year

Have you ever read about a conference that you’d love to go to, but know that it’s impossible? Impossible because it’s overseas and your university doesn’t support overseas travel? Impossible because your research is in areas not covered by your advisor’s grants? Impossible because your institution has no travel funding whatsoever? Now there is hope.



CSCW 2017

HRI 2017

IUI 2017

CHI 2017 logo

CC 2017

TVX 2017

IDC 2017

EICS 2017

MobileHCI 2017